Berry Kale Lemonade Smoothie

berry kale lemonade smoothie

We are BIG fans of smoothies in this house. I mean, who doesn’t love a cold tasty treat of fruity goodness?! I always try to fit in something “green” to add an extra punch of health benefits. My kids and husband love it, I crave it, It makes us feel good…it’s a win all around 🙂

Smoothies are amazing because there are so many different combinations you can create depending on your preferred tastes or daily mood. I am OBSESSED with all kinds of berries, kale and lemons, so this smoothie checks off all my personal favorite boxes. I usually use the juice of one lime in all my smoothies, but I recently made homemade lemonade and added some of that instead..and wow…it was magic! Once you start making smoothies and learning what liquid to solid ratios you prefer, how your blender best functions, and which fruit/veggie/liquids you prefer, you will have so much fun playing around with your smoothies and creating some fabulous and healthy drinks the whole family will love!

INGREDIENTS:

1- 1 3/4 cup frozen berries (I use a triple berry blend from Target)

1 frozen banana (save your old bananas when they start to go bad, chop up and freeze each in a plastic bag to use for smoothies)

1/2 – 1 cup milk (any kind you prefer, I use organic nonfat)

1/2 cup pomegranate juice

1/2 cup lemonade (click for recipe)

scoop of Vanilla Plant-Based Protein Powder (optional)

*scoop of Greens blend berry (optional) (not recommended for children, or women who are pregnant or nursing)

2 large handfuls of kale (remove from stalk and tear into smaller pieces)

Mint leaves (optional)

*Greens blend berry powder is not recommended for children, or women who are pregnant or nursing

 

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine all ingredients in blender.
  2. Blend until smooth. My blender has a “smoothie” setting. I run it through that setting at least twice to make sure everything is smooth and not too grainy. Depending on your blender, you may need to adjust the amounts of liquids to reach your desired consistency.
  3. Pour and enjoy! I also like to garnish with fresh mint leaves and then stir them in with my straw.

Click here for more great ways to incorporate greens into your daily life!

Leave a Reply

